NextMile carries the responsibility of disseminating information on one of the most successful ICT initiatives of the Country – the mission mode National Transport Computerization Project.

In every project, one important requirement stands out above all others – the need to make all information related to the project available to all involved so that they are able to look beyond their own levels or domains and break free of being the proverbial frog in the well. There is also the need to make users aware of the services made available so that they are able to avail those services.


NextMile intends to fulfil these critical requirements.For personnel who work for the Project, NextMile carries the responsibility of bringing information on what is being planned for so that they are in a position to react and contribute meaningfully to a Project that is being acknowledged as a noteworthy success story of ICT initiatives in e-Governance in India.


Bihar started a little late in 2008, but has now caught up and even charged ahead in certain areas in the field of computerization of the Transport Sector. It is showing the way in implementing a CCTV-based challaning system through eChallan. It has also provided the entire range of online citizen services. We present a profile of the Transport Computerization Project in Bihar.

We bring to you the online Fancy Number Auction system in the Services column. In the Turning Wheel Section, Assam features as a state which has completed migration to Vahan 4.0 and Sarathi 4.0. It has also rolled out the online citizen services.The big news is that the State of Kerala has also adopted Vahan and Sarathi. Plus all our regular columns.

     Rubaiyat-ul Ali

 Honourable Minister for Road Transport & Highways
 Shri Nitin Gadkari

 Shri Yudhvir Singh Malik, Secretary(RT&H)
 Dr Neeta Verma, Director General, NIC

 Shri Shri Gautam Ghosh, Deputy Director General, NIC
 Shri Abhay Damle, Joint Secretary (Transport), MoRTH
 Shri Priyank Bharti, Joint Secretary (MVL), MoRTH
 Shri Pawan Joshi, Deputy Director General, NIC
 Shri Joydeep Shome, Senior Technical Director, NIC


 Julie Rachel Zachariah

 EDITORIAL ASSISTANT:: Sayanti Chakraborty

 Transport Project Management Unit,
 All Correspondents of NextMile
 National Informatics Centre (NIC)
 Department of Electronics & Information Technology
 Ministry of Communications & Information Technology
  Government of India

National Informatics Centre